Board of Directors



The Board of Directors at Mercy College of Health Sciences is guided by its mission, vision, and values rooted in the legacy of the Sisters of Mercy. The Board serves as the governing body of Mercy College and is committed, at a strategic level, to its fiduciary responsibilities of educational quality, fiscal integrity, and assuring the effectiveness of the College and its various constituencies. In shaping the College’s strategies and policies, the Board engages in a culture of accountability, transparency, and the highest ethical standards.

Apply NowRequest Info

Mary Sheldahl
Mary Sheldahl*
Board Chair

Retired Business Owner

Glenn Lyons
Glenn Lyons*
Vice Chair

571 Polson Developments, LLC

Paul Erickson
Paul Erickson*

Senior Vice President, Consumer Division
Bankers Trust Company

Douglas Fiore
Doug Fiore, PhD*
ex officio

Mercy College of Health Sciences

Jeff Flora
Jeff Flora*

Senior Vice President of Finance, Food & Human Group
Kemin Industries, Inc

Karl Keeler
Karl Keeler*
ex officio

Mercy Medical Center - Des Moines

Thomas Reitinger
Thomas Reitinger*
Board Treasurer

Thomas R. Reitinger & Associates, LLC

Emily McAllister, JD
Attorney, Shareholder
Duncan Green, P.C.

Michael Bohl
Michael Bohl
Chief Operations Officer
Radiology Group, PC, SC

Elisabeth Buck
Elisabeth Buck
United Way Central Iowa

Linda Carter-Lewis
Linda Carter-Lewis
Community Advocate

Tom Clancy, PhD
Interim Vice President of Patient Services and Chief Nursing Officer
Mercy Iowa City

Stephen Eckstat
Stephen Eckstat, DO, FAAFP

Joyce Lillis
Joyce Lillis, MSN, RN
Retired Nursing Professional

Debra Willyard
Debra Willyard, EdD, RN
Chief Nursing Officer
Pella Regional Health Center

Sr. Maurita Soukup
Sr. Maurita Soukup, RSM, PhD, RN
Nurse Researcher
Member of the West Midwest Regional Community of the Sisters of Mercy of the Americas


*Denotes Executive Committee Member

Request Info

Next step before transforming into a life-saving hero: complete the form below. Our admissions team will get you all the info you need to know.

Request Info


Admissions: (515) 643-6715
General: (515) 643-3180

Get Connected

Mercy College is a Catholic, accredited, nonprofit institution of higher learning.